Monarch, for linked accounts, on Android too
- Price: $99.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: No conversion
Monarch is the nearest match to Copilot that runs on Android: it aggregates accounts at more than 13,000 institutions into budgets, cash flow, investments and net worth, with an AI assistant, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web. A partner joins free with their own login, which Copilot's shared sign-in does not offer, and it reaches Canada as well as the US.
Core is $99.99 a year or $14.99 a month after a 7-day trial that needs a payment method; Plus is $199.99 a year. It defaults to flex budgeting, with category budgets as an option.
Where it falls short: No Mac app, no currency conversion, the US and Canada only, and offline use is not stated.
Monarch's own pricing page
YNAB, for a budgeting method on Android and the web
- Price: $109 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: One per plan
YNAB runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch and the web, and its method is the opposite of Copilot's: instead of watching categorised spending arrive, you give every dollar a job before you spend it. Direct Import covers select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, including the UK, and it advertises offline access.
It is $109 a year or $14.99 a month after a 34-day trial with no card, and up to six people share one subscription with their own logins. College students get a year free.
Where it falls short: No desktop app (on a Mac it is the web app), one currency per plan, and a method that takes real setup.
YNAB's own pricing page
Lunch Money, for a web budget with Android and iPhone apps
- Price: $60 to $150 a year
- Platforms: Web, with iPhone and Android apps
- Currencies: 160+ currencies
Lunch Money is web first, with companion apps for iPhone and Android, and handles more than 160 currencies with totals in a primary currency you can change. Bank imports through Plaid are optional in the US, Canada and parts of Europe; CSV and PDF statements import too, and there is a developer API.
The yearly price is yours to set between $60 and $150, or $10 a month, after a 30-day trial with no card. Any number of collaborators get their own logins at no extra charge.
Where it falls short: No free plan, the phone apps are companions to the web app, and offline use is not stated.
Lunch Money's own pricing page
Actual Budget, for a desktop app on Mac, Windows or Linux
- Price: Free software
- Platforms: Mac, Windows, Linux, web
- Currencies: One
Actual Budget is a free, open-source desktop app for Mac, Windows and Linux that works offline out of the box and keeps data on your device. It is envelope budgeting rather than Copilot's tracking, with a tracking budget as an option, rules, schedules for bills and reports.
There is no official Android or iPhone app any more: on a phone it is an installed web page, which works offline too, and syncing between devices needs a server you run or rent, from about $2 a month. Bank sync is optional, through SimpleFIN in North America ($15 a year) or Enable Banking in Europe.
Where it falls short: One currency, no native phone app, and setup that Copilot never asks of you.
Actual Budget's own pricing page
Tavala, for Android, a native Mac app and offline
- Price: Free; Plus $39.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, web
- Currencies: Every currency in one space
Tavala runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, a native Mac app and the web, so one household can share a budget across both kinds of phone. It is a private, offline-first personal finance app: every screen works without a connection, it starts with no account and no bank, and each entry is one typed line in any currency, at the rate of its day. Budgets show what is left, safe to spend subtracts the bills due before payday, and debts get a snowball or avalanche plan.
The free plan does not end: two currencies per space and one synced device. Tavala Plus is $39.99 a year or $6.99 a month on the web for every device, every currency and a space shared with up to six people, each with their own account. A read-only bank connection through Plaid is an optional add-on to Plus, for banks in the United States and Canada, at $3.99 a month per bank.
Where it falls short: Built for typing entries, with the bank feed as an add-on rather than the core; no Android widget and no receipt scanner. The App Store and Mac App Store listings are not public yet, so on an iPhone or a Mac it runs in the browser today.
Tavala pricing
Cashew, for a free tracker on Android
- Price: Free; Pro $11.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: Multi-currency
Cashew is a free, open-source (GPL-3.0) tracker for Android, iPhone, iPad and the web, with data on your device and backups in your own Google Drive. It holds one currency per account and converts totals with daily rates. On Android it can add spending from bank notifications or SMS, which stands in for a bank connection.
Pro is $11.99 a year, $1.49 a month or $19.99 once in the US App Store; what it unlocks is not listed on Cashew's pages, and the web app has no Pro. Entries can also be added with AI, through Gemini or Apple Intelligence.
Where it falls short: No bank connections, no shared budgets unless two people share one Google account, and no Mac app listed.
Cashew's own pricing page
PocketGuard, for one left-over number, bank-linked
- Price: $74.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, Android, web
- Currencies: Not stated
PocketGuard is a bank-linked budgeting app built around one figure, Leftover: what is left to spend after bills, budgets, goals and debt payments. It runs on iPhone, Apple Watch, Android and the web, connects institutions in the US and Canada (its help adds the UK), and has a debt payoff plan with a debt-free date.
Premium is $74.99 a year, $12.99 a month or $149.99 once, after a 7-day trial; these prices come from an archived copy of its own pricing page, because the live site could not be read from outside the US. A Basic tier exists, with limits it does not state.
Where it falls short: No iPad or Mac app listed, one shared login for a couple, and currencies and offline use not stated.
PocketGuard's own pricing page