YNAB, for a budgeting method that teaches you
- Price: $109 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: One per plan
YNAB is a method as much as an app: every dollar gets a job before you spend it, and its guides and workshops teach the habit. Bank import covers select banks in the US, Canada, the UK and much of the EU, and up to six people share one subscription with their own logins. $109 a year or $14.99 a month after a 34-day trial; college students get a year free.
Where it falls short: One currency per plan, no free plan, and a method that takes real setup.
YNAB's own pricing page
Monarch, for linking every account in the US or Canada
- Price: $99.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: No conversion
Monarch pulls every account from thousands of institutions into budgets, cash flow, investments and net worth, adds household members at no extra cost and has an AI assistant. $99.99 a year or $14.99 a month after a 7-day trial.
Where it falls short: Available only in the US and Canada, no currency conversion, no free plan.
Monarch's own pricing page
Copilot, for a US household on Apple devices
- Price: $95 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Mac, web
- Currencies: USD only
Copilot is the most polished bank-fed app on iPhone, iPad and a native Mac app, with automatic categorization and no ads. $95 a year, or $13 a month in the App Store, after a one-month trial.
Where it falls short: US accounts and US dollars only, and no Android app.
Copilot's own pricing page
Goodbudget, for envelopes on two phones, free
- Price: $80 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, Android, web
- Currencies: One
Goodbudget is envelope budgeting for a household: fill envelopes, spend from them, share one budget on two phones free (20 envelopes, one account, a year of history). Premium is $80 a year with US bank sync.
Where it falls short: One currency, and its help describes it as needing an internet connection.
Goodbudget's own pricing page
EveryDollar, for the Ramsey plan, free by hand
- Price: $79.99 a year
- Platforms: Web, iPhone, iPad, Android
- Currencies: US dollars only
EveryDollar is Ramsey Solutions' zero-based budget. The free version has unlimited categories and a shared household budget if you enter spending yourself; Premium, $79.99 a year, adds bank connections.
Where it falls short: Built around one personal finance program, and its currency support is not stated.
EveryDollar's own pricing page
Actual Budget, for open source on your own server
- Price: Free software
- Platforms: Mac, Windows, Linux, web
- Currencies: One
Actual is free, open-source, local-first envelope budgeting with no tracking. It syncs through a server you run or rent (PikaPods from about $2 a month), and imports bank files from any country.
Where it falls short: One currency, mobile through an installed web page, and syncing needs a server.
Actual Budget's own pricing page
Tavala, for money in several currencies, with or without a bank
- Price: Free; Plus $39.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, web
- Currencies: Every currency in one space
Tavala keeps every entry in the currency it was paid in, with the rate of its day, and adds a budget up in one main currency: a salary in euros, rent in pounds, a card in dollars. It starts with no account and no bank, works offline on iPhone, iPad, Android, a native Mac app and the web, and is free to start; Tavala Plus is $39.99 a year on the web for every device, every currency and sharing with up to six people.
Where it falls short: Bank sync only for banks in the United States and Canada, as a paid add-on; no import from other apps yet; not a zero-based method.
Tavala pricing
PocketSmith, for forecasts and bank feeds outside North America
- Price: $9.99 a month, billed yearly
- Platforms: Web, iPhone, iPad, Android
- Currencies: Multi-currency, all plans
PocketSmith projects your balances far ahead, holds real multi-currency accounts and connects banks in many countries, Australia and New Zealand especially. The free plan covers 2 accounts and 12 budgets; Foundation is $119.88 a year.
Where it falls short: Web first, and the full forecasting and country coverage cost more than most apps here.
PocketSmith's own pricing page
Rocket Money, for finding subscriptions to cancel
- Price: Pay what you choose
- Platforms: iPhone, web
- Currencies: Not stated
Rocket Money's strength is finding recurring charges you forgot and helping cancel them, with budgets and bill reminders on its free tier. Premium is pay what you choose, which it says is typically $7 to $14 a month.
Where it falls short: US users with US banks only; it needs your bank connected.
Rocket Money's own pricing page
Cashew, for a free, local tracker
- Price: Free; Pro $11.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: Multi-currency
Cashew is a free, open-source tracker with data on your device, multi-currency with daily rates, and sync through your own Google Drive. Pro is $11.99 a year.
Where it falls short: No bank connections, and sharing runs through a Google account.
Cashew's own pricing page