YNAB, for a method and bank import beyond North America
- Price: $109 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: One per plan
YNAB is a budgeting method as much as an app: give every dollar a job when it arrives, before you spend it. Its Direct Import covers select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, including the UK, so it reaches further than Monarch does, and file import takes CSV, QFX, OFX and QIF from any bank. Up to six people share one subscription, each with their own login.
It is $109 a year or $14.99 a month after a 34-day trial with no card, a little more than Monarch Core, and college students get a year free. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch and the web, and advertises offline access.
Where it falls short: Not cheaper than Monarch, one currency per plan, and a method that takes real setup.
YNAB's own pricing page
PocketSmith, for forecasts and bank feeds outside North America
- Price: $9.99 a month, billed yearly
- Platforms: Web, iPhone, iPad, Android
- Currencies: Multi-currency, all plans
PocketSmith projects your balances far ahead and holds real multi-currency accounts, with daily rates, gold and bitcoin included. It connects banks in many countries through several aggregators, Australia and New Zealand especially, which Monarch does not reach at all.
The free plan covers 2 accounts, 12 budgets and 6 months of projection. Foundation is $119.88 a year or $14.95 a month and covers banks in one country; the higher plans cover every country. It is web first, with iPhone and Android apps and a desktop beta.
Where it falls short: Costs more than Monarch once you need banks in several countries, and it is web first.
PocketSmith's own pricing page
Wallet by BudgetBakers, for multi-currency with bank sync, from the EU
- Price: Premium; prices only in the stores
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: Full multi-currency
Wallet is a money tracker from BudgetBakers, a company in Prague, with full multi-currency: one currency per account, rates updated overnight, or your own rate. Its Premium bank sync says it connects over 15,000 banking institutions worldwide as a PSD2-licensed provider, and its data sits on servers in the EU or the US.
The free tier is for manual tracking, with limits it does not state. Premium is sold in the apps, with no pricing page; the US App Store lists purchases from $5.99 to $49.99 and a $29.99 lifetime option. Group Sharing lets you share chosen accounts with family members who do not pay, with permissions per account.
Where it falls short: The main currency cannot be changed without deleting your data, prices are only in the stores, and features differ between the phone apps and the web.
Wallet by BudgetBakers's own pricing page
Lunch Money, for many currencies and many collaborators
- Price: $60 to $150 a year
- Platforms: Web, with iPhone and Android apps
- Currencies: 160+ currencies
Lunch Money is a web-first budget with iPhone and Android apps, with more than 160 currencies, totals in a primary currency you can change at any time, and rates fetched daily. Bank imports through Plaid are optional, in the US, Canada and parts of Europe, and CSV and PDF statements import as well.
You set your yearly price between $60 and $150, or pay $10 a month, after a 30-day trial with no card, so it can cost less than Monarch. Any number of collaborators share one budget with their own logins at no extra charge, and there is a developer API. It has no built-in AI, and says any future AI will be opt-in.
Where it falls short: No free plan, mainly a web app, and offline use is not stated.
Lunch Money's own pricing page
Actual Budget, for free, offline and open source
- Price: Free software
- Platforms: Mac, Windows, Linux, web
- Currencies: One
Actual Budget is free, open-source (MIT) envelope budgeting that keeps data on your device, with no trackers. The desktop app for Mac, Windows and Linux works offline out of the box and needs no account or server; to sync devices you run a server or rent one, from about $2 a month.
Bank sync is optional and yours to set up: SimpleFIN ($15 a year) in North America, Enable Banking in Europe. Without it, Actual imports CSV, QIF, OFX, QFX and CAMT files from any bank. On a phone it runs as an installed web page.
Where it falls short: One currency, more setup than Monarch, and syncing needs a server.
Actual Budget's own pricing page
Tavala, for several currencies, offline, with or without a bank
- Price: Free; Plus $39.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, web
- Currencies: Every currency in one space
Tavala is a private, offline-first personal finance app, built the other way round from Monarch: it starts with no bank and no account, and you log what you paid in one typed line, in any currency. Every entry keeps the exchange rate of its day, so accounts in euros, pounds and dollars add up in one main currency, and every screen works offline. Budgets show what is left per category, and safe to spend subtracts the bills due before payday.
The free plan does not end: two currencies at a time in each space you own and one synced device. Tavala Plus is $39.99 a year or $6.99 a month on the web, less than half of Monarch Core, for every currency, every device and a space shared with up to six people, who never pay. A read-only bank connection through Plaid is an optional add-on to Plus, for banks in the United States and Canada, at $3.99 a month per bank. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, a native Mac app and the web.
Where it falls short: No bank connections outside the United States and Canada, no net worth chart over time, no receipt scanner, no import from Monarch or any other app, and entries in a shared space do not show who added them.
Tavala pricing
Simplifi, for a lower price, in the US or Canada
- Price: Billed yearly only
- Platforms: Web, iPhone, Android
- Currencies: USD or CAD
Simplifi is Quicken's bank-linked spending plan app for the web, iPhone and Android, connecting banks in the United States and Canada. It is billed yearly only; its page showed $3.99 and $6.99 a month without saying which is the promotion, and either works out below Monarch Core's yearly price. There is no free plan or trial, only a 30-day money-back guarantee.
It works in USD or CAD, one currency at a time, and has no Mac or Windows app. For a US or Canadian household that likes Monarch's linked accounts and wants to pay less, it is the most direct swap on this page.
Where it falls short: The same two countries as Monarch, one currency at a time, and a headline price that does not say which figure is the promotion.
Simplifi's own pricing page