Credit Karma, for Mint's spending and net worth, free
- Price: Free
- Platforms: Not stated
- Currencies: Not stated
Credit Karma is where Intuit sent Mint users. Connect your accounts and it shows transactions by category, cash flow, what is left after bills and your net worth, for free; it says it is compensated through third-party advertisers. For someone who mainly used Mint to see where the money went, moving there is the shortest path.
Its pages describe spending and net worth, not budgets: none of them offers setting a monthly budget. Its 2023 announcement also names Intuit Assist, a generative AI assistant.
Where it falls short: No budgets on its pages, it needs your accounts linked, and it is paid for by advertising.
Credit Karma's own pricing page
Monarch, for Mint's linked accounts, with budgets
- Price: $99.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: No conversion
Monarch keeps what Credit Karma dropped: it links accounts at more than 13,000 institutions in the US and Canada into budgets, cash flow, investments and net worth, with flex budgeting by default and category budgets as an option. A partner joins free with their own login, and there is an AI assistant.
It is not free: Core is $99.99 a year or $14.99 a month after a 7-day trial that needs a payment method, and Plus is $199.99 a year. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, and imports CSV files on the web.
Where it falls short: No free plan, the US and Canada only, and no currency conversion.
Monarch's own pricing page
Copilot, for a polished app on Apple devices
- Price: $95 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Mac, web
- Currencies: USD only
Copilot is a bank-fed money app for iPhone, iPad, a native Mac app and the web, linking more than 10,000 US institutions, with direct integrations for Venmo, Apple Card and Coinbase. It categorises spending automatically, tracks investments and net worth, and shows no ads; category budgets are there if you want them.
It is $95 a year, or $13 a month in the App Store, after a one-month trial.
Where it falls short: No Android app, US accounts and US dollars only, no free plan, and a partner shares your login.
Copilot's own pricing page
YNAB, for a budget that teaches a method
- Price: $109 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: One per plan
YNAB takes the opposite approach to Mint: instead of showing what you spent, it asks you to give every dollar a job before you spend it, with guides and workshops that teach the habit. Bank import covers select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, including the UK, and up to six people share one subscription with their own logins.
It is $109 a year or $14.99 a month after a 34-day trial with no card; college students get a year free. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch and the web.
Where it falls short: No free plan, one currency per plan, and more work each month than an app that only shows your spending.
YNAB's own pricing page
Rocket Money, for finding subscriptions to cancel
- Price: Pay what you choose
- Platforms: iPhone, web
- Currencies: Not stated
Rocket Money links your US bank accounts and finds recurring charges, with help cancelling the ones you forgot. Its free tier includes subscription tracking, budgets and bill reminders, with your accounts linked.
Premium is pay what you choose, which Rocket Money says typically falls between $7 and $14 a month, and Premium+ is $15 a month. It is for US users with US banks only.
Where it falls short: US banks only, it needs your bank connected, and its Android app could not be verified on its pages.
Rocket Money's own pricing page
Empower, for a free net worth and investment dashboard
- Price: Free
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: Not stated
Empower's Personal Dashboard is free and built on linked accounts, with net worth and investments in one view, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web. It comes from a wealth manager, and its terms say the dashboard may be supported by advertising or marketing relationships; paid wealth management is a separate offer.
Where it falls short: It needs your accounts linked, its currencies are not stated, and using it may bring offers of its paid wealth management.
Empower's own pricing page
EveryDollar, for a free budget you fill in by hand
- Price: $79.99 a year
- Platforms: Web, iPhone, iPad, Android
- Currencies: US dollars only
EveryDollar is Ramsey Solutions' zero-based budget: plan every dollar before you spend it, so income minus expenses equals zero. The free version has unlimited categories and a shared household budget if you enter spending yourself; Premium, $79.99 a year or $17.99 a month after a 14-day trial, adds bank connections through Mastercard Connect and Plaid.
Where it falls short: Free means typing every expense; US dollars only, and the phone apps and Premium are for the United States.
EveryDollar's own pricing page
Tavala, for several currencies, offline, with or without a bank
- Price: Free; Plus $39.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, web
- Currencies: Every currency in one space
Tavala is a private, offline-first personal finance app, and unlike Mint it does not start from your bank: you log what you paid in one typed line, in any currency, at the rate of its day, and budgets show what is left per category. Safe to spend subtracts the bills due before payday, debts get a snowball or avalanche plan, and every screen works offline, with no account needed to start.
The free plan does not end, with two currencies per space and one synced device. Tavala Plus is $39.99 a year or $6.99 a month on the web for every device, every currency and sharing with up to six people. If you want a bank feed like Mint's, a read-only bank connection through Plaid is an optional add-on to Plus, for banks in the United States and Canada, at $3.99 a month per bank.
Where it falls short: No free bank connection, no net worth chart over time, no receipt scanner, and no import from other apps.
Tavala pricing