Buckets, for a budget file on your computer, bought once
- Price: $64 once
- Platforms: Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone, Android
- Currencies: Not stated
Buckets is the nearest thing to Actual's desktop app with nothing to host: envelope budgeting in a file on your Mac, Windows or Linux computer, with no account for the trial. On 25 October 2026 it cost $64 once, for every computer in your household, with a free trial that has no time limit.
Devices share a budget through a folder you already sync (Syncthing, Dropbox, iCloud or Google Drive), its relay or your local network, and you merge changes yourself. Bank sync is optional through SimpleFIN Bridge, or by OFX, QFX and CSV files.
Where it falls short: Its FAQ calls the phone app read-only, its currencies and offline use are not stated, and version 2 would likely cost a small upgrade fee.
Buckets's own pricing page
Firefly III, for your own server, in any currency
- Price: Free software
- Platforms: Web, on a server you run
- Currencies: As many as you like
Firefly III is for the reader who likes Actual's server and wants more currencies: free, open-source (AGPL-3.0) software for your own server, which says it never contacts external servers until you tell it to. It supports as many currencies as you like, each asset account in one, with a primary currency per administration. Exchange rates are optional and off by default; turned on, they download about weekly for the built-in currencies, and amounts convert only back into your base currency.
Hosting is yours to choose: on 25 October 2026 PikaPods listed it from $2.70 a month and Zenith at $10 a month. It is double-entry bookkeeping with budgets and rules; bank data comes through a separate Data Importer app, and phone apps are third-party.
Where it falls short: Not envelope or zero-based budgeting, no shared budget between users yet, and a database its docs say is not encrypted.
Firefly III's own pricing page
Cashew, for a free, open-source tracker that stays on your phone
- Price: Free; Pro $11.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: Multi-currency
Cashew is free and open source (GPL-3.0) like Actual, but local-first on the phone: an on-device database, no account, and backups and sync through your own Google Drive instead of a server. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, holds one currency per account with totals in the primary account's currency, and updates rates daily from an open API unless you set your own.
Instead of bank sync it reads spending from notifications or SMS, and it imports CSV files with column mapping. Pro was $11.99 a year, $1.49 a month or $19.99 once in the US App Store on 25 October 2026; what it unlocks is not listed on its pages.
Where it falls short: No bank connections, sharing only by sharing one Google account, no desktop app listed, and budgets and goals rather than envelopes.
Cashew's own pricing page
Aspire Budget, for zero-based envelopes in your own spreadsheet
- Price: Free
- Platforms: Google Sheets
- Currencies: One
Aspire Budget keeps Actual's method, zero-based envelope budgeting, in a free Google Sheets template that lives in your own Drive; Aspire says your transaction data is never stored on its servers. There is no Aspire account and no card for the free sheet, only a Google account, and partner sharing, reports and a free YNAB import are part of the free tier.
Aspire Turbo, $5 a month on 25 October 2026 after a 30-day trial that needs a payment method, adds bank CSV import with auto-categorizing and Aspire Mobile, a phone web app that needs a connection to save a transaction.
Where it falls short: A spreadsheet in Google's cloud rather than an app on your device, one currency, no bank connections, and offline use is not stated.
Aspire Budget's own pricing page
Tavala, for local-first with no server, in several currencies
- Price: Free; Plus $39.99 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, web
- Currencies: Every currency in one space
Tavala is a private, offline-first personal finance app, and it answers three of Actual's gaps at once. Your data lives on your device and every screen works offline; as a guest, with no account, nothing about your money is sent anywhere. With an account it syncs through Tavala's own database in Ireland (EU), with no server for you to run. It has apps for iPhone, iPad and Android, a native Mac app and the web. And it holds every currency in one budget, each entry at the rate of its day.
Budgets count down from a monthly limit to show what is left, and safe to spend subtracts the bills due before your next income. The free plan does not end: 2 currencies per space and one synced device. Tavala Plus is $39.99 a year or $6.99 a month on the web for every currency, every device and a space shared with up to six people. A read-only bank connection through Plaid is an optional add-on to Tavala Plus, for banks in the United States and Canada, at $3.99 a month per bank.
Where it falls short: Not open source or self-hostable, not envelope or zero-based budgeting, no import from Actual or any app, and bank sync only in the United States and Canada. The App Store and Mac App Store listings are not public yet, so on Apple devices it runs in the browser today.
Tavala pricing
YNAB, for Actual's method without a server
- Price: $109 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Android, web
- Currencies: One per plan
YNAB budgets the way Actual does by default, every dollar given a job before you spend it, but as a hosted service: no server to run, apps for iPhone, iPad, Android and Apple Watch plus the web, and offline access it advertises on its features page. Direct Import covers select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, including the UK, with no keys to manage, and up to six people share one subscription with their own logins.
On 25 October 2026 it was $109 a year or $14.99 a month after a 34-day trial with no card, and college students get a year free. File import takes CSV, QFX, OFX and QIF on the web.
Where it falls short: Not local-first (its services are operated from the United States), one currency per plan, no free plan, and no desktop app in its app list.
YNAB's own pricing page
Goodbudget, for envelopes on two phones, free
- Price: $80 a year
- Platforms: iPhone, Android, web
- Currencies: One
Goodbudget is the envelope method as a hosted household app: fill envelopes, spend from them, and see the same budget on every device signed in to your household. On 25 October 2026 the free plan covered 20 envelopes, one account, two devices and a year of history; Premium was $80 a year or $10 a month for unlimited envelopes and accounts, five devices, seven years of history and bank sync for US banks through Plaid.
It runs on iPhone, Android and the web, and imports QFX, OFX and CSV files on the web.
Where it falls short: Not local-first (data stored in the United States), one currency, offline use not documented, and no Mac or Windows app.
Goodbudget's own pricing page
Lunch Money, for many currencies, if local-first can go
- Price: $60 to $150 a year
- Platforms: Web, with iPhone and Android apps
- Currencies: 160+ currencies
Lunch Money answers Actual's currency gap rather than its server: a hosted, web-first budget with iPhone and Android companion apps, more than 160 currencies, totals in a primary currency you can change at any time, and rates fetched daily. Bank imports through Plaid are optional in the US, Canada and 17 European countries, CSV and PDF statements import too, and there is a developer API.
On 25 October 2026 you set your own yearly price from $60 to $150, or paid $10 a month, after a 30-day trial. Any number of collaborators share a budget, each with their own login.
Where it falls short: Not local-first (data stored in the United States), no free plan, and offline use is not stated.
Lunch Money's own pricing page