Actual Budget vs YNAB

Actual Budget and YNAB budget the same way, every dollar assigned to a category before you spend it, and differ in almost everything else. Actual is free, open-source software that keeps your budget on your device and syncs through a server you run or rent; YNAB is a $109-a-year service with native phone apps and bank import included. Choose Actual if you want open source, local data and a low running cost, and are happy to set things up yourself; choose YNAB if you want it to work out of the box, with native apps and its teaching behind it.

By Dejan Bogatinovski, founder of Tavala. Updated .

Actual Budget and YNAB at a glance
WhatActual BudgetYNAB
PriceFree softwareHosting from $2 a month (PikaPods)$109 a yearor $14.99 a month; 34-day trial
Free planFreeOpen source (MIT); you run itNoneA 34-day trial; college students get 365 days
Budgeting methodEnvelopes (zero-based)A tracking budget is optionalEvery dollar a jobAssign income before you spend it
Where your data livesOn your deviceOr on a sync server you runUnited States"operated from the United States"
Bank connectionsOptional, set up yourselfNeeds your server; SimpleFIN ($15 a year) or Enable BankingIncludedSelect banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, UK included
PlatformsMac, Windows, Linux, webDesktop app; mobile is an installed web pageiPhone, iPad, Android, webApple Watch; its app list shows no desktop app
Works offlineYes"works regardless of your network connection"Advertised"even offline!" on its features page
CurrenciesOne"does not support multi-currency"One per planIts advice for several: a separate plan for each
SharingOne shared budget fileMulti-user needs an OpenID providerUp to 6 peopleYNAB Together: one subscription, a login each
AINot statedIts privacy policy does not mention AICategorizing and insightsAllowed by its privacy policy (April 2026)
Export and importExport any timeA zip with a SQLite file; imports YNAB4 and YNAB (JSON)CSV or TSVPlan and transactions, web only; no targets or notes
Checked on 25 October 2026 on each app's own pages, US prices: Actual Budget pricing and YNAB pricing. "Not stated" means the app's own pages do not say.

The method: the same envelopes, two kinds of software

Actual's default is envelope budgeting, and its documentation says another name for it is zero-based budgeting: you budget the money you have into categories, and what you spend comes out of them. YNAB asks the same of you in its own words, "Every time you get money, ask yourself 'What's it for?'", with targets for spending and savings goals. Someone who has used one will recognise the other, and Actual can import a YNAB budget.

Around the method the two differ. YNAB adds a loan planner, a set of reports (net worth, spending breakdown and trends, income against expense, age of money) and years of teaching material. Actual adds rules that rename payees and set categories, schedules for expected bills and income, and custom reports; its budget templates and goals are still marked experimental in its documentation. Actual also offers a tracking budget, for people who would rather follow spending than assign every dollar.

The larger difference is who runs it. With YNAB the service runs, the apps update and the bank feed is set up inside the app. With Actual you choose where it runs, how it syncs and which bank provider to use, and you keep the result on your own device.

Pricing, properly compared

Actual has no price. The software is free under the MIT licence, and the desktop app for Mac, Windows and Linux runs with no server and no account. Costs start when you want more: syncing between devices needs the Actual server, which you run on your own hardware or rent, for example on PikaPods from about $2 a month as PikaPods stated on 24 October 2026, and bank sync in North America through SimpleFIN costs $15 a year. Actual's own hosted service shut down in 2024, so there is no subscription to buy from the project.

On 24 October 2026 YNAB cost $109 a year or $14.99 a month, plus tax where it applies, with a 34-day trial that needs no card on its own site, and 365 days for college students. It has no free plan.

Over two years, Actual costs nothing on one computer, about $48 with a PikaPods server for syncing, and about $78 with SimpleFIN bank sync as well. YNAB costs $218 paid yearly or $359.76 paid monthly, so even the full Actual setup is about $140 cheaper than YNAB paid yearly. What fills the gap on YNAB's side is real: native phone apps, bank import set up inside the app, and someone else running the service. These sums leave out tax, the trial and the time a self-hosted setup takes.

Where your data lives

Actual is local-first: its privacy policy says your financial data is stored on your device and is not sent to or stored on the project's servers, and it has no trackers. If you sync, the data also sits on the server you run or rent, with optional end-to-end encryption under a second password; bank sync tokens are not end-to-end encrypted. YNAB is a hosted service whose privacy policy says its services are operated from the United States, so data from other countries is transferred and stored there. YNAB says it does not sell your financial data.

Bank connections and countries

YNAB's Direct Import is included in the subscription and set up inside the app, for select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries including the UK, through MX and Plaid. Actual's bank sync is optional and needs its server plus an account with a provider you sign up for yourself: SimpleFIN Bridge in North America, Enable Banking in Europe, Akahu in New Zealand and Pluggy.ai in Brazil. GoCardless, once a European route, is not accepting new accounts.

For files, Actual imports CSV, QIF, OFX, QFX and CAMT from any bank. YNAB imports CSV, QFX, OFX and QIF on the web and iPad, but not on iPhone or Android.

Platforms, phones and offline

YNAB has native apps for iPhone, iPad and Android, an Apple Watch app and the web, and no desktop app. Actual has a desktop app for Mac, Windows and Linux and a web version served by its server. Its official mobile apps are deprecated: on a phone you install the web version to the home screen, which its documentation says works offline once installed. Unofficial community clients exist.

Actual says offline use is ready out of the box on the desktop. YNAB's features page advertises access "even offline!" without describing how offline changes sync. There is also a browser-only Actual at app.actualbudget.org that keeps data in your browser, which Actual itself does not recommend for long-term use.

Currencies and sharing

Neither handles several currencies. Actual's documentation says it is currency agnostic and does not support multi-currency, and suggests tagging accounts by currency. A YNAB plan holds one currency, and YNAB suggests a separate plan for each.

For a household, YNAB Together lets the person who pays invite up to five others, each with their own login, on one subscription. Actual can be shared as one budget file between partners; separate logins need its multi-user mode, which needs an OpenID provider that you configure.

AI, import and export

Actual's own pages mention no AI features. YNAB's privacy policy allows AI for categorizing, cleaning up merchant names, insights and support. Actual lets you export your data from its settings at any time. YNAB exports a plan from the web as two files, the plan and the transaction history, in CSV or TSV, without targets or category notes.

Moving from YNAB to Actual is supported: Actual imports YNAB4 files, and imports current YNAB through a JSON file taken from YNAB's API rather than the CSV export. Going the other way, YNAB's file import loads transactions, not a budget, so categories and targets would be set up again.

Choose Actual Budget if

  • You want free, open-source (MIT), local-first envelope budgeting with no trackers.
  • You are comfortable running a server, or paying a host about $2 a month, to sync between devices.
  • You want rules, schedules and custom reports, and do not mind that templates are experimental.
  • You want to import bank files (CSV, OFX, QIF, CAMT) from any country, or choose your own bank sync provider.

Choose YNAB if

  • You want the same method with native iPhone, iPad and Android apps and an Apple Watch app.
  • You want bank import set up inside the app, in the US, Canada or one of 18 European countries.
  • You share money with up to five other people, each with their own login, on one subscription.
  • You want teaching material, a loan planner and someone else running the service.

If neither fits

From Tavala, which publishes this page: Neither suits money in several currencies, and each asks for a trade: YNAB a subscription and servers in the US, Actual a server of your own to sync. Tavala sits between them for some people: it is local-first, works offline on every screen, and syncs through its own service in Ireland once you create an account, with nothing leaving the device before that. It runs on Android and the web, holds every currency in one budget on Tavala Plus ($39.99 a year on the web; two currencies per space on the free plan), and keeps each entry at its day's exchange rate. Its limits matter on this page: Tavala is not open source, cannot be self-hosted, is not zero-based and cannot import an Actual or YNAB budget, and its App Store and Mac App Store listings are not public yet, so on Apple devices it runs in the browser for now.

Questions

Can Actual Budget import my YNAB budget?
Yes. Actual imports YNAB4 files, and current YNAB through a JSON file from YNAB's API, not the CSV export that YNAB's web app produces.
Is Actual Budget really free?
The software is, under the MIT licence, and the desktop app needs no server. Syncing between devices needs a server you run or rent, from about $2 a month on PikaPods, and bank sync in North America through SimpleFIN is $15 a year.
Does Actual Budget have a phone app?
Not an official native one: Actual's mobile apps are deprecated. On a phone you install the web version to the home screen, and it works offline once installed. YNAB has native iPhone, iPad and Android apps.
Do Actual and YNAB use the same method?
Close to it. Actual's default is envelope budgeting, which its documentation also calls zero-based; YNAB gives every dollar a job. Both budget the money you already have.
How does bank sync compare?
YNAB's is included and set up inside the app, for select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries. Actual's is optional and set up by you through its server, with a provider such as SimpleFIN in North America or Enable Banking in Europe.

Start with what you spent today.

There is no account to create and no card to enter. Pick your currency, add what you paid, and Home shows what is left.