PocketGuard vs YNAB

PocketGuard and YNAB answer different questions. PocketGuard links your bank and shows one number, Leftover: what is left to spend after bills, budgets, goals and debt payments. YNAB has you give every dollar a job before you spend it. PocketGuard is cheaper, $74.99 a year or $149.99 once, as its own pages stated in October 2026; YNAB is $109 a year, with bank import in more countries. Choose PocketGuard for one figure from a linked bank in the US or Canada; choose YNAB for a full method and separate logins.

By Dejan Bogatinovski, founder of Tavala. Updated .

PocketGuard and YNAB at a glance
WhatPocketGuardYNAB
Price$74.99 a yearor $12.99 a month; $149.99 once for life; 7-day trial$109 a yearor $14.99 a month; 34-day trial
Free planA Basic tierIts limits are not stated; the pricing page shows the trial onlyNoneA 34-day trial; college students get 365 days
Budgeting methodLeftoverWhat is left after bills, budgets, goals and debt paymentsEvery dollar a jobAssign income before you spend it
Bank connectionsIncluded, at the coreUS and Canada on its pricing page; the UK too in its helpIncludedSelect banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, UK included
SharingOne shared loginUp to 6 peopleYNAB Together: one subscription, a login each
PlatformsiPhone, Android, webApple Watch; no iPad or Mac app listediPhone, iPad, Android, webApple Watch; its app list shows no desktop app
CurrenciesNot statedOne per planIts advice for several: a separate plan for each
Works offlineNot statedAdvertised"even offline!" on its features page
AIPredicts upcoming expensesAnd an AI support chatCategorizing and insightsAllowed by its privacy policy (April 2026)
Export and importCSV on PlusEmailed as a linkCSV or TSVPlan and transactions, web only; no targets or notes
Checked on 24 October 2026 on each app's own pages, US prices: PocketGuard pricing and YNAB pricing. "Not stated" means the app's own pages do not say.

The method: Leftover, or every dollar a job

PocketGuard's Leftover is how much you have left to spend once bills, budgets, goals and debt payments are set aside, a figure it says combines AI and maths to predict your upcoming expenses. You look at one number and spend within it, and the bank feed keeps it current. PocketGuard also says it supports zero-based, envelope and category budgeting, and its pricing page offers a custom strategy and rollover budgets.

YNAB starts from the other end. Every time money arrives you ask what it is for and assign it to categories until none is left, with targets for spending and savings goals; what you can spend is whatever is in a category. The work is in the assigning, and that is the point: the plan always matches money you actually have.

The practical difference is who sets the limit. PocketGuard works it out from your accounts and shows it to you; YNAB asks you to set it, category by category. People who want to glance at one number tend to prefer the first, and people who want to decide where each dollar goes, the second.

Pricing, properly compared

PocketGuard's site is not served to visitors outside North America, so its pages were read from archived copies. As its own pages stated in October 2026, PocketGuard Premium cost $74.99 a year, $12.99 a month or $149.99 once for life, all in US dollars, with a 7-day trial, and the App Store listed the same yearly and monthly prices. Its help center calls the paid tier Plus and refers to a free tier called Basic, whose limits its pages do not state; the pricing page shows only the trial.

The help center does list what Plus adds: unlimited bank connections, the debt payoff plan, custom categories, export, import, unlimited goals, unlimited category budgets with rollovers, unlimited rules, split transactions, receipts and up to 50 cash accounts. That list suggests Basic caps some of these, but by how much is not stated, so this page does not compare the free tier.

On 24 October 2026 YNAB cost $109 a year or $14.99 a month, plus tax where it applies, after a 34-day trial with no card on its own site; college students get 365 days. It has no free plan. Paid yearly, PocketGuard works out to $6.25 a month and YNAB to $9.08.

Over two years, PocketGuard costs $149.98 paid yearly and $311.76 paid monthly; YNAB costs $218 paid yearly and $359.76 paid monthly, so PocketGuard is $68.02 cheaper paid yearly and $48 cheaper paid monthly. PocketGuard's lifetime price of $149.99 is one cent more than two yearly payments, so from the third year it costs nothing more: three yearly payments would be $224.97. Against twelve monthly payments, paying yearly saves $80.89 a year on PocketGuard and $70.88 on YNAB. These sums leave out tax and the trial.

Bank connections and countries

Bank connections are the core of PocketGuard. Its pricing page says US and Canada; its help center and home page also name the UK, with more than 20,000 institutions through Plaid, Finicity and Salt Edge. You can register and use it without linking a bank, with manual transactions and cash accounts. The free tier's connection limit is not stated; Plus lists unlimited bank connections.

YNAB's Direct Import, which it calls completely optional, is included in the subscription, for select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries including the UK, through MX and Plaid. Both import bank files too: PocketGuard takes CSV into a cash account on Plus, and YNAB takes CSV, QFX, OFX and QIF on the web and iPad.

Sharing

PocketGuard's help describes sharing as signing in with the same login and password, or the same Google or Apple account. There are no separate member logins and no switch between family and personal views; to tell people's spending apart, it suggests hashtags on transactions. YNAB Together lets the person who pays invite up to five others, each with their own login, sharing the plans they choose. For a couple who want separate logins, YNAB offers them and PocketGuard does not.

Platforms and offline

Both run on iPhone, Android, Apple Watch and the web. YNAB also has an iPad app; PocketGuard's App Store listing shows iPhone and Apple Watch, with no iPad or Mac app listed. Neither lists a desktop app. YNAB's features page advertises access "even offline!"; PocketGuard's pages do not state whether it works offline.

Currencies, debt and AI

PocketGuard's pages do not state how it handles currencies. A YNAB plan holds one currency, and YNAB suggests a separate plan for each.

Both plan debt payoff. PocketGuard Plus builds a debt payoff plan that shows the date you will be debt-free; YNAB's loan planner shows how much interest and time each extra dollar saves. On AI, PocketGuard uses it to predict upcoming expenses and offers an AI support chat. YNAB's privacy policy allows AI for categorizing, cleaning up merchant names, insights and support.

Import, export and privacy

PocketGuard exports transactions from all linked accounts as CSV on Plus, sent by email as a link that is valid for 24 hours. YNAB exports a plan and its transaction history from the web as two CSV or TSV files, without targets or category notes.

PocketGuard's pages say it shows no ads and does not sell data, and do not state where data is stored. YNAB says its services are operated from the United States and that it does not sell your financial data.

Choose PocketGuard if

  • You bank in the US or Canada and want one left-over number that already subtracts bills, goals and debt payments.
  • You want a debt payoff plan with a debt-free date inside a bank-linked budget app.
  • You would rather pay once: a lifetime option exists.

Choose YNAB if

  • You want to decide where every dollar goes, with targets and a loan planner.
  • You bank in one of YNAB's 18 European countries, including the UK, or want bank import included in the price.
  • You want each person on their own login, up to six people on one subscription.
  • You want an iPad app, a 34-day trial with no card, or a free year as a college student.

If neither fits

From Tavala, which publishes this page: Neither suits money in more than one currency, or a household that banks outside the countries their connections reach. Tavala starts with no account and no bank, works offline on every screen, and holds every currency in one budget on Tavala Plus, each entry at its day's exchange rate. Its safe to spend figure is close to PocketGuard's idea: what is left after the bills due before payday. It is free to start, and Tavala Plus is $39.99 a year on the web; its bank connection is an optional add-on to Tavala Plus, for banks in the United States and Canada, at $3.99 a month per bank. Its limits matter on this page: it is not zero-based, has no Apple Watch app, cannot import from PocketGuard or YNAB, and lets you choose a snowball or avalanche payoff order but not a custom one.

Questions

Is PocketGuard free?
Its help center refers to a free tier called Basic, but its pages do not state Basic's limits, and its pricing page showed only a 7-day trial of the paid plan.
Is PocketGuard's Leftover the same as YNAB's method?
No. Leftover is a figure PocketGuard works out from your linked accounts after bills, budgets, goals and debt payments. YNAB has you assign every dollar to a category yourself.
Is PocketGuard available outside North America?
Its pricing page names the US and Canada, and its help center adds the UK. In October 2026 its website showed visitors in Europe a message that it is not available in their region.
Can my partner have their own PocketGuard login?
No. PocketGuard's help describes sharing one login, or one Google or Apple account. YNAB Together gives up to six people their own logins on one subscription.
When does PocketGuard's lifetime plan pay off?
Against the yearly plan, after two years: $149.99 once against $149.98 for two yearly payments, at the prices its own pages stated in October 2026.
Which is cheaper over two years?
PocketGuard: $149.98 paid yearly against $218 for YNAB, or $311.76 paid monthly against $359.76. YNAB's 34-day trial is longer than PocketGuard's 7 days.
Does either app work offline?
YNAB advertises access even offline on its features page. PocketGuard's pages do not state whether it works offline.

Start with what you spent today.

There is no account to create and no card to enter. Pick your currency, add what you paid, and Home shows what is left.