Goodbudget vs YNAB

Goodbudget and YNAB both ask you to plan money before you spend it. Goodbudget does it with envelopes you fill and spend from, mostly by hand, and has a free plan (20 envelopes, one account, two devices); Premium is $80 a year. YNAB gives every dollar a job, imports from select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, and costs $109 a year with no free plan. Choose Goodbudget for free, manual envelope budgeting shared on two phones; choose YNAB for bank import outside the US, a guided method and separate logins.

By Dejan Bogatinovski, founder of Tavala. Updated .

Goodbudget and YNAB at a glance
WhatGoodbudgetYNAB
Price$80 a yearor $10 a month on the web (Premium)$109 a yearor $14.99 a month; 34-day trial
Free planFree forever20 envelopes, 1 account, 2 devices, 1 year of historyNoneA 34-day trial; college students get 365 days
Budgeting methodEnvelopesFill envelopes, spend from themEvery dollar a jobAssign income before you spend it
Bank connectionsPremium onlyUS banks only, through PlaidIncludedSelect banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries, UK included
SharingOne household login2 phones free, 5 on Premium; any number on the webUp to 6 peopleYNAB Together: one subscription, a login each
PlatformsiPhone, Android, webiPhone only in the App Store; no Mac or Windows appiPhone, iPad, Android, webApple Watch; its app list shows no desktop app
Works offlineNot documented"available wherever you have internet access"Advertised"even offline!" on its features page
CurrenciesOneIts own comparison table: multiple currencies "N"One per planIts advice for several: a separate plan for each
Adding an expense by handManual entry firstQFX, OFX and CSV import (CSV "for advanced users")Manual entry or file importCSV, QFX, OFX, QIF on the web; not on phones
Export and importCSVTransaction history, from the webCSV or TSVPlan and transactions, web only; no targets or notes
Checked on 25 October 2026 on each app's own pages, US prices: Goodbudget pricing and YNAB pricing. "Not stated" means the app's own pages do not say.

The method: envelopes, or every dollar a job

Goodbudget is a digital version of the cash-envelope system. You divide income into envelopes (groceries, rent, a holiday) and record each purchase against one; when an envelope is empty, that category is done until you refill it or move money across from another. Entering spending by hand is the main way in, which keeps you close to every purchase.

YNAB's method asks the same question of each payment that arrives, "What's it for?", and you assign money to categories until none is left unassigned. The difference is mostly in the tools around it: YNAB has targets for spending and savings goals, bank import that brings transactions in, and a loan planner. Goodbudget's envelopes are simpler to learn; YNAB's targets and loan planner do more of the arithmetic.

Both plans start from the money you have, not the money you expect, and both reward the habit of checking before you spend. If you have ever run a budget with cash in envelopes, Goodbudget will feel familiar at once; if you want a target for each bill and goal, YNAB has them.

Pricing, properly compared

Goodbudget has a free plan with no end date: 10 regular and 10 more envelopes, one account, two devices, one year of history and community support. Debt accounts are on the free plan too and do not count toward the one-account limit; Goodbudget says you can track as many as you need. Premium cost $80 a year or $10 a month on 24 October 2026 and adds unlimited envelopes and accounts, five devices, seven years of history, bank sync for US banks and email support. Its sign-up page does not state a trial, and parts of its help call the paid plan Plus rather than Premium.

YNAB has no free plan. On 24 October 2026 it cost $109 a year or $14.99 a month, plus tax where it applies, after a 34-day trial with no card on its own site; college students get 365 days.

Over two years Goodbudget costs nothing on the free plan, $160 on Premium paid yearly and $240 paid monthly. YNAB costs $218 paid yearly and $359.76 paid monthly, so Goodbudget Premium is $58 cheaper over two years paid yearly and $119.76 cheaper paid monthly. Against twelve monthly payments, paying yearly saves $40 a year on Goodbudget and $70.88 on YNAB. For many people the real comparison is Goodbudget's free plan against YNAB's trial: one keeps going at no cost within its limits, the other ends after 34 days. These sums leave out tax.

Bank connections and countries

Goodbudget's bank sync is a Premium feature, for US banks only, through Plaid, covering checking, savings and credit cards but not investments, crypto or loans. On the web it also imports QFX, OFX and CSV files, which it describes as for advanced users. YNAB's Direct Import is included in every subscription, for select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries including the UK, through MX and Plaid, and it imports CSV, QFX, OFX and QIF files on the web and iPad.

Outside the US, YNAB is the one of the two that can connect a bank. Inside the US, both can; Goodbudget only on Premium.

Sharing and devices

Goodbudget shares one household budget through one household login: two mobile devices on the free plan, five on Premium, and unlimited web access. YNAB Together lets the person who pays invite up to five others, six in all, each with their own login, and members share the plans they choose. If each person wants their own login, YNAB offers it; if a couple wants one budget on two phones for free, Goodbudget does.

Platforms and offline

Goodbudget runs on iPhone, Android and the web, which works on computers and tablets; it mentions no native Mac, Windows or dedicated iPad app. YNAB runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch and the web, with no desktop app.

On offline use, YNAB's features page advertises access "even offline!". Goodbudget's help describes it as available wherever you have internet access, syncing each time you open the app or record a transaction, and does not document entering spending offline.

Currencies, debt and AI

Neither handles several currencies. Goodbudget's own comparison table marks multiple currencies as not supported; a YNAB plan holds one currency, and YNAB suggests a separate plan for each.

For debt, Goodbudget tracks debt accounts on both plans, with a debt snowball guide and a debt progress report. YNAB's loan planner calculates how much interest and time each extra dollar toward a loan saves. Goodbudget's pages do not state any AI features; YNAB's privacy policy allows AI for categorizing, cleaning up merchant names, insights and support.

History and reports

Goodbudget's free plan keeps one year of history and Premium seven, which matters if you want to look back at what last year's holidays or repairs cost. For debt it has a Debt Progress Report. YNAB's reports are Net Worth, Spending Breakdown and Age of Money on the web and on phones, Spending Trends and Income v. Expense on the web only, and Income vs. Spending on phones only.

Import and export

Both export to files from the web: Goodbudget exports transactions as CSV, and YNAB exports a plan and its transaction history as two CSV or TSV files, without targets or category notes. Neither describes an importer made for the other. Goodbudget's CSV import maps date, name and amount columns, so a YNAB transaction file could in principle be loaded that way, though that has not been tested here. Most people who switch set up envelopes or categories again and start from today's balances.

Choose Goodbudget if

  • You want the envelope method free, shared by a household on two phones.
  • You are paying down debts and want as many debt accounts as you need, with a snowball guide, on the free plan.
  • You prefer entering spending by hand, with optional US bank sync on Premium.
  • You want an app that has taught envelope budgeting for years, with plenty of guides.

Choose YNAB if

  • You want bank import in Canada, the UK or another of YNAB's 18 European countries, or included in the price in the US.
  • You want targets and a loan planner that do the arithmetic for you.
  • You want each person in the household on their own login, up to six people.
  • You want native iPad and Apple Watch apps, or you are a college student with a year free.

If neither fits

From Tavala, which publishes this page: Neither suits money in more than one currency, or someone who needs every screen to work without a connection. Tavala is built for those: every currency in one budget on Tavala Plus, each entry kept at its day's exchange rate, every screen working offline, and no account needed to start. Its free plan puts no cap on wallets, budgets or entries and keeps all history, but holds two currencies per space and syncs one device; Tavala Plus, $39.99 a year on the web, lifts those limits. It is the wrong choice if you want either method on this page: it has no envelopes and is not zero-based. Its budgets count down from a monthly limit, and safe to spend subtracts the bills due before payday.

Questions

Is Goodbudget free?
Yes, with limits: 20 envelopes (10 regular and 10 more), one account, two devices and one year of history, plus as many debt accounts as you need. Premium is $80 a year or $10 a month.
Is YNAB an envelope app?
Not in name. YNAB gives every dollar a job by assigning money to categories, which works much like filling envelopes; Goodbudget calls its categories envelopes and is built around the cash-envelope idea.
Does Goodbudget connect to banks outside the US?
No. Its bank sync is Premium only and for US banks. Elsewhere you enter spending by hand or import files on the web. YNAB connects to select banks in the US, Canada and 18 European countries.
Can two people use either app?
Yes. Goodbudget shares one household login across two phones free, five on Premium. YNAB Together gives up to six people their own logins on one subscription.
Which is cheaper over two years?
Goodbudget: nothing on the free plan, or $160 on Premium paid yearly, against $218 for YNAB paid yearly. Paid monthly, $240 against $359.76.
Can I try Goodbudget Premium before paying?
Goodbudget's sign-up page does not state a Premium trial; its free plan is the way to try the method. YNAB's trial is 34 days, with no card on its own site.
Does either app work offline?
YNAB advertises access even offline on its features page. Goodbudget's help describes it as available wherever you have internet access and does not document offline entry.

Start with what you spent today.

There is no account to create and no card to enter. Pick your currency, add what you paid, and Home shows what is left.